YIPPEEE!! SPECIAL DAY! AND THANK YOU!

Today is special for a two reasons!
Number one – Shadow Shot Sunday!
Number two – the last day of Blogtoberfest!

I do feel in a little bit of a party mood.
And party I will.
Sunday night can be quite the celebratory night in our house.

*************

This afternoon my sister called in on her way home from work to pick up the keys for our ‘country’ house, where she will spend a night with her oldest, closest friend, just for a catch up. Her friend lives up North now and has two babies!!
Yes, babies!
At our age!
(40s)!!!!
She obviously had her fun while everyone else was settling down, I suppose and now all those settled down people are unsettled and she is settling down and having babies. Good on her!
Whatever works for you, girl. Go for it!

We had an early cocktail hour with my sister. I love seeing her. We’re the only two in the metro area and she lives half an hours drive from us but her job takes her to many locations around where we live and where I work, so we have been able to catch up semi-regularly lately.

Ahhh, family!
I love family life; catching up with family. It is the most important thing to me.
They have been and always will be there for me/us.
We’re so blessed by our family and friends.

*************

Oh, how badly do I drift off track?
‘Stream of consciousness’, I think they call it.
So, let me get back on track.
It’s Shadow Shot Sunday!
Hosted by Tracy at Hey Harriet.
Today was a perfect shadow day, because it was so sunny.
Summer is definitely working very hard to be with us and today his (yes I think of Summer as a masculine season) efforts were commendable.

It was dry.
It was sunny.
It was a great day for drying the washing (four loads – where did they come from?)
It was warm.
We sat outside and didn’t need jumpers!
Summer does feel good!

Here is our bed cover drying on the ‘communal’ Hills Hoist, my Shadow Shot.

This is the story!

Our adoptive cat had walked all over it with wet, dirty paws sometime during the night last week, when Summer took a break and Winter gladly took over, with her (yes, I see Winter as a woman; melancholy, moody, lots of precipitation and lightning and thunder. I’m sure you understand, girls) freezing winds and driving rain which made it unpleasant for Kitty to spend any more time than absolutely necessary, doing whatever Kitty needs to do outside at 3.38am on a Wednesday morning, then meowing at the bedroom door, having climbed a tree, walked the perimeter of about seven balconies, jumping over the bamboo screen surrounding our balcony and landing with muddy, wet paws to wait impatiently for one of us useless humans (me) to wake up, get up and open the door leading to his adoptive haven, at 3.59am, so he can stroll, with his wet, little muddy paws, all over the white bed cover to find a satisfactory resting place.
Did you get that?

Buddy goes out on a wild and stormy, wintry night and returns 21 minutes later with MUDDY paws and jumps straight onto our bed, finds his pozzy after walking said paws all over WHITE bed cover, sleeps for about an hour and then expects to repeat the whole scenario and, do you know what? We usually oblige!

So that’s the story for my Shadow Shot.

*************

Now Blogtoberst..

Blogtoberfest has been quite a month. I made a commitment.
A commitment is a big deal to me, so when I make a commitment I MUST keep it.
I committed to blog every day for the month of October and I also committed to posting an AFFIRMATION A DAY!
I think I have missed two, maybe three days, but today is the last day!!!
Hip, hip, hooray!!
Not because I am happy it is over, more like the closing ceremony for the Olympics; celebrating all that has been achieved, good and bad. Just rejoicing with fellow Blogtoberfestians. We have shared something together.
And I would like/love to thank Cathy!
From Tinniegirl.
Thank you girl!
For hosting Blogtoberfest again, this year. I know it hasn’t been easy for you. I sincerely hope and pray that all you hope for and dream of, will come your way, soon!

And my thanks also, to all the beautiful girls who have stopped by our blog and left kind and encouraging comments.
You make my day!

Whoo boy! This is turning into an epic.

It’s time for the final AFFIRMATION A DAY! for the Blogtoberfest month.
(Wait, while I refer to my trusty Bible)
This is from 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Sigh…
Haven’t we all heard this at a wedding and thought ‘Ohhhh, yes! How lovely. Yeah, that’s the kind of love I want’.
Well, yes indeed. How lovely.
These are God-breathed words. That is why they are lovely.

I said at the beginning of Blogtoberfest that I didn’t believe that this would be a forum for expounding religious beliefs.

The affirmations I have shared are simple words from the Bible. There are those who know the Word and will question the context of the affirmations. I have deliberately made them ‘accessible’ to the mainstream reader. I haven’t mentioned God very often, because I didn’t want to ‘Bible bash’.
But, everyone.
For the record. Every affirmation is made up of words from the Bible.
If you felt touched by them, that was all I hoped for, in whatever context.
You are blessed and you are a blessing.

Don’t ever forget that God loves YOU!

Happy, happy, blessed Blogtober!!

PS: Don’t forget my Giveaway. It has been running for the whole of Blogtoberfest and the last comment I receive dated in October will be the close off for entries. I’m in Western Australia, so not sure what time that will be where ever you are, but very soon I imagine.

All the love in the world,
M
x x x

 

2 responses to “YIPPEEE!! SPECIAL DAY! AND THANK YOU!

  1. Well that was a crazy-in-a-fun-way post lol! I love your “affirmation a day”. Summer must be trying really, really hard to be with you considering it is Spring for another month. I made that mistake earlier today… lol

    • Haha, Kathy, you’re right. It was a bit crazy and it IS still Spring. I’m impatient. We’re having a 36 degree day this week I think. Thank you for your comments.

Leave a Reply

