Four Days in a Row!

I’m here again!

I discovered, after following another blogger’s suggestion, that this time last year I was blogging every day! I didn’t even realise. We were on a month-long holiday in Japan and dutifully, every night, would sit down and blog about our day. So blogging every day in October for Blogtoberfest should be a piece of cake, right?

But there was so so much to talk about then. These days it’s a different story, unfortunately, but our day will come again – just not sure when.

How quickly we forget the joys of relaxing and basking and doing nothing or doing lots of exciting stuff. Less than a month ago we were preparing for our adventure in Bali – less than a month ago!! It feels like forever. Our much anticipated nine day odyssey came and it went and now it feels like we didn’t even go.

As surely as the seasons change from Winter to Spring, so too do the seasons of our lives. Haha! That reminds me of that daytime soap we used to watch after school – “Like sands through the hour-glass, so are the Days of our Lives”. Anyway, what I’m leading up to here is my
AFFIRMATION A DAY
!

Often we hear people say “There is a time for every purpose under the sun” (or something along those lines). They are absolutely correct. Every life has its seasons. There is no escaping that. Some seasons are fruitful, exciting and full of promise. We all tend to like these seasons. But without exception, we also experience seasons of sadness, trouble and worry. These seasons probably stand out most vividly, because they tend to impact our psyche more powerfully. We don’t like them and they can haunt us, even when the trouble has ended. Then again, things like having a baby must stand out vividly on the other end of the spectrum. But when it hurts, it hurts and sometimes memories of better times can become dim.

We have all sorts of sayings like ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’, ‘no pain, no gain’ that refer specifically to our seasons of struggle. As painful as these seasons are they are unavoidable and we can choose how we roll with them. (In saying that though, I’m not saying it is easy to choose. For me, that’s where the real struggle comes in). They are a time of growing though.

Can you believe this affirmation? And affirmation it is! When we think all is woe the Bible reassures us that all is as it should be; good times and bad, in Ecclesiastes 3. I will just share the first verse, but you can go here to read it all if you feel so inclined.

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven:

I’m in a season of ‘blah’ at the moment, so I know it could be worse, but I really feel like I need to harness some joy and goodness and excitement. Reading over what we were doing this time last year gives me back some of that and I know there is more to come.


I hope whatever season you are in now, you are harnessing all the GOOD that you can from it.

5 responses to “Four Days in a Row!

  1. A beautiful post. I really enjoyed reading it. Acknowledging and embracing the ‘seasons’ that life brings is something I feel very passionate about.

  2. thanks for your comment on my blog. I haven’t read Eat Pray Love but it does look very interesting. You have some great photographs on your blog have enjoyed flicking through them xxx

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog… so interesting reading yours too.. Isn’t it great looking back at what we were all doing this time last year ?? By the way any questions you have on my operation please feel free to ask and I will try to answer as best I can. Thanks Jackie x

  4. I totally understand!!
    While I was in Japan, I sat down in front of computer every night/day and wrote about what happened on the day.
    Before I went to Japan I thought I wouldn’t have time to do such things, but actually I did. 🙂

    What was I doing this time lsat year…? I think I was in Japan or Jakarta (after my wedding)!
    I wonder what I will be doing around this time next year. 😀

Leave a Reply

