NEVER UNDER ESTIMATE THE VALUE OF LAVENDER AS A CUT FLOWER

Random thought, the title. Sorry!

But it’s true. A lovely little posy of lavender, freshly cut, makes such a welcoming and attractive  adornment to any room of the house. I know that’s probably noteworthy and interesting to less than 0.5% of the population, but you can count me in. I cut quite a few posies of lavender this weekend and placed them in oddly shaped vases and jars all over the house.

Ah….. the house. We’ve returned from our weekend at our house. It’s Sunday, late, and all I really have time for right now at almost 22:00 hours is my shadow shot submission. It’s a bit of a toss up because we went to the beach on Saturday, as the sun was dropping towards the horizon and WOW,  you just can’t go wrong with shadow shots at that time of the day on a deserted beach – heavenly, even with kids in tow!

Peter’s girls spent a night with us and it was quite pleasant, with a minimum of stress, which is really saying somethin’, but that’s another story. We all love the beach and we are all transformed the minute we glimpse the vast, glorious blue leading all the way to the horizon. Saturday’s weather was too stunningly beautiful to not be out in it, to not be at the beach. I think the promise of fish and chips and DVDs and icecream and popcorn afterwards made the prospect of an hour in the sun and fresh air all the more palatable to a couple of pubescent teenagers. So! A beautiful afternoon was had by all!!

Meanie and Peter were happy. Girls were happy! Little ‘family’ was happy and everyone ate up their fish and chips (which were not too bad) and afters and watched Ponyo and went to bed and had ‘Min’ stories and went to sleep. I think it odd that a 13 and 15 year old still have bed time stories, but if that’s what they want, Daddy is more than happy to oblige. It won’t last forever. None of it will. Some of it I’ll miss and other bits I’ll be happy to wave goodbye to, forever. But that’s a whole other story.

Photos, I leave you with. Monday is looming. We have had a yummy, ‘bread and butter pudding’ weekend. Is that somewhere between a Vegemite sandwich and creme brulee weekend? I think so. That’s what I’m talking about, anyway… You get it, don’t you?

I left the house filled with lavender. We’re not there to enjoy it, but there’s a strange comfort I feel, knowing it’s all there, waiting for us, for next time. God bless us all!

OK! One more photo. It’s after 10 now. Peter is snoring beside me. I need to put a stop to that right now. Any tips, other than just giving him a friendly ‘nudge’? Haha. Sorry darling. Bye Peeps! By the way Shadow Shot Sunday is here.

A trumpet is sounding beside me!! Gotta go…….

13 responses to “NEVER UNDER ESTIMATE THE VALUE OF LAVENDER AS A CUT FLOWER

  1. a lovely collection of photos! I usually kick my husband (gently!!) when he snores!!

  2. Awesome shadow shots! The first and second are my favorites!

  3. Great shadow shots! And yep, count me in as one who appreciates that title 🙂

  4. Yes I second what Anne (frayedattheedge) suggests. A gentle kick should work a treat! If that doesn’t work, then a try a slightly less than gentle kick next time 😉

    A great post! I get the bread and butter pudding kind of weekend. Oh & LOVE that first photo. Cute!

    Have a wonderful week 🙂

    • Thanks Tracy. I think my husband is going to be afraid to go to sleep, lest he receive a battering from me!!! Hahaha

  5. I love your beach photos. Long tall shadows are lovely. Sounds like you have had a great weekend

    Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog

    Have a happy week

  6. magicalmysticalteacher

    on the beach
    shadows prance and dance
    till sunset

    Shadowy Pergola

  7. Great shots!! I’ve just wized through some of your blog & enjoyed it very much (good to see some West Oz photos, don’t think there are mant of us). Keep writing. Thanks for your visit :~)

  8. Great photos!
    If your interessted check out my unique photo challenge website http://www.weekdayphotos.com, every weekday has its own theme and a different photo challenge every week.
    The themes are:

    Monday – Creative Colors
    Tuesday – Macro
    Wednesday – 2 of a kind
    Thursday – Urban
    Friday – Sunset

    The winning photo for every theme/week gets their photo published on the website, check it out and ill be glad if you would join 🙂

    Have a good one!

    • Thank you for your comments and invitation to join your photo challenge meme. I’d love to give it a go. It looks great!

  9. Sounds like a great weekend you had! 😀
    I love the photos too, the doggies look so happy and cute (>v<)

Leave a Reply

