BOOKCASE TOUR TUESDAY – SORT OF

During the week, I had an idea that I would take you on a tour, not necessarily of my bookcase or even a book, but a tour none the less. I was thinking along the lines of a tour of my clothes basket, or the back yard or even the run-down, ancient, communal laundry that we use when we are at our house in Perth. All very interesting tours that I will probably embark upon at a later date.

This week, though, I have my Nana’s “Recipe File” to tour you through. My beloved Nana! She died when I was ten, so 34 years ago. Sometimes I think about her and still miss her. My Mum reminds me of her a bit now. I hope my Mum doesn’t read this!

So somehow, I inherited my Nana’s recipe file and there are things in here that are old and things in here that aren’t recipes. There are also ‘newer’ recipes from the 80’s that I have added, but never cooked from. It would have been when I was all young and inspired and wanting to cook like a pro but probably only ever reached “Apricot Chicken” level.

So let’s start with the wedding invitations.

My parents wedding – August 1964. Obviously I didn’t put this in here. It could have been Nana or it could have been my Mum. I always forget it is in here so every time I find it I am surprised anew that I have a blank invitation to my parents wedding at Orro Church and afterwards at the Married Quarters. I always check the date to make sure I wasn’t born until much, much later – 11 months to be precise!

The other wedding invitation was from my cousin’s wedding in 1981. I was 16. My sisters and I were all invited and my Mum made us all new dresses to wear. Mine was a mushroom pink, chiffon (something floaty) skirt and top. We were just little girls, but thought we were so grown up. I remember that there was a view (from The Room With a View Function Centre) straight into a window in a neighbouring apartment block. There was a woman in that room and she should have drawn the curtains, but she hadn’t and I won’t say any more. It was just such an adult thing to be invited to a wedding and not as a flower girl!

Other items of interest in Nana’s Recipe File? Something old (written on an old diary page from 1949!)

Plenty of recipes for ginger beer and/or pickles. Do people still make ginger beer? I vaguely remember explosions in the back shed. I’ve always been kind of scared of ginger beer.

Mock chicken – I’m sure everyone knows how yummy this actually is, so don’t laugh.

There were a few other ancient scribbles; Weetbix Crunch and Coconut & Cornflake Crunch were probably interesting lunch box treats that my Nana made for my Mum. Or possibly not. Then there was this mysterious little unnamed recipe, typed up beautifully on a manual typewriter. Come to think of it, I may have had to do this as a typing exercise back in the early 80’s. Beautifully formatted, although I don’t think it was called formatting back then.

So that’s a tour of Nana’s Recipe File for this weeks Bookcase Tour Tuesday. If you visit Kimono Reincarnate she may have others you can view. If not, never mind. Next week I will take you on a tour of Nana’s Beauty Case! Yes, I inherited that too!


 

4 responses to “BOOKCASE TOUR TUESDAY – SORT OF

  1. I love this idea! Thanks! I will try to get mine up tonight… it’s been sitting there half done since last week!

    How precious are these memories! And a diary page! Oh, and yes, we brewed ginger beer too and I remember the sounds of it exploding in the middle of the night. I was talking with Wayne about it recently and also wondering if people still make it.

  2. Thank you! I was talking to Peter and saying how each week I could just do a tour of anything really, that’s if you’re OK with it, but if you get back into the Bookcase Tour I’ll do books.

  3. Haha, ginger beer exploding brings back memories of being in boarding school, and my sister and her friend making ginger beer. When it exploded (in the strict, non-alcholic Adventist boarding house bathroom), we had beer (which smelt highly alcoholic!) dripping from the ceiling!! Sounds like you had fun going down memory lane too Meg 🙂 Btw, they made mock chicken for us at boarding school too (we were vego, after all!) – believe me, even for vegetarians, it isn’t very nice!!

    • Actually boarding school sounds much more exciting than I imagined. We left the ginger beer brewing up to my dad and stayed away from the shed. That was when we didn’t have it set up to play libraries or mothers and fathers! haha

Leave a Reply

