DAY 10/28 – MATSUSHIMA TO KYOTO

Well, here we are in Kyoto, the place we are staying the longest of all – 5 nights!

This morning before breakfast we did a quick walk around the water front at Matsushima.

Matsushima bridge

Gull

We stayed the night at the Century Hotel which included dinner and breakfast, both of which were superb. Apart from that we had little time for anything else. I again ventured to the public bath/onsen. The experience still freaks me out a bit, but I’m getting used to it. However I’m beginning to think bathing in the bathroom in our room is probably more practical since I just have to come back anyway to do all the other stuff, like makeup, hair etc. We’ll see..  (sorry, no photos).

We left Matsushima at 10.30am and travelled to Kyoto via Sendai and Tokyo.

Tokyo Peter

We finally arrived at our hotel just after 5pm. So tonight we decided just to wander around and find a place to dine. We found a truly authentic and delightful yakitori style restaurant called Mima Deli (yes, unusual name. It had nothing to do with a delicatessen). It wasn’t on the tourist map but luckily I travel with my interpreter who came in very handy on this occasion! The menu was hand written in Japanese, a challenge even for the very experienced Peter san. He did come through with shining colours though and was once again complimented on his excellent Nihongo!

Mima Deli

Now, to the food. We ordered the yakotori and salad set. We each received a skewer of chicken/shallots, pork/shallots, chicken leg, potato with chilli sauce and snapper. Each one was ‘truly luxurious’, with its own unique flavour enhanced by, I think, marinades and sauces, which I can never identify.

The salad, comprising lettuce, cherry tomatoes, pumpkin, cucumber, daikon and other tidbits was dressed with a subtle splash of something that had a kind of burnt brown sugar, buttery flavour. Perfect! Meat and three (or more) vege. Naka naka herushii!

Yakitori

On the way back to the hotel we stopped in at a giant bookstore and Starbucks. In my ongoing attempt to live dangerously I ordered the white chocolate mocha latte and Peter settled on the plain latte since the creme brulee latte was all “sold out”? Would it be wrong to drink white chocolate smothered with ridiculously thick swirls of whipped cream for breakfast? What if I become addicted? There is no Starbucks in WA. I love that WHITE CHOCOLATE MOCHA LATTE!! I think the best thing is to drink it until I am sick of the sight of it. Yes, that sounds like a plan.

Well, that’s it for today. It was a great day and we are so looking forward to our long, long stay in Kyoto.

Good night until tomorrow!

One response to “DAY 10/28 – MATSUSHIMA TO KYOTO

  1. Yummy looking yakitori! I just remembered – one of my faves in Kyoto is the gyoza resturant – that’s pretty much all it serves. It’s in the Gion district, drop me a line if you want me to look it up and find out details.

Leave a Reply

