Shadow Shot Sunday

It’s the times when I am home when I wouldn’t  usually be home that I am surprised and delighted by the shadows that dance around my house, when no one is looking.

Shadow Shot Sunday celebrates shadows from all over the world.
If you would like to participate, please visit Hey Harriet’s blog.

***********

This week has been a funny week.

I have been alone since last Saturday, when I dropped my Peter man at the airport.

We have not spoken since then (only texted).
I worry that he can’t survive without my guidance screeching in his ear about everything!

He has written, if you can call poking a finger onto letters on the front of an iPhone writing, pages and pages and I have responded.
We have kept up a steady stream of communication, but if I don’t hear something the minute I know he wakes up (six hours after I have woken up) I panic.
He is in South Africa.
Because I know very little about South Africa, I believe he must be in constant danger, so my ‘thoughts’ take over and I imagine all sorts of calamities have occurred.

However, the problem is, in Peter’s words,
“They are really not anywhere near as techno-resourced as we are”
So, if I don’t hear anything it is not because he has been kidnapped, robbed of all his belongings (including his iPhone), eaten by a pack of marauding lions, or become lost on the savannah.

Will I ever be a relaxed, laid back, middle aged woman?
Or will I always be a timid, emotional little child with an overactive imagination?
No need to answer that, thanks.

Suffice to say, I have been alone.
Some things about being alone are good and others not so good, but overall, ‘doable’ as long as I don’t have food in the house – (see binging on anything and everything to relieve the boredom or whatever that dumb emotion is).

I have had time to blog.
I have had time to start a new blog.
What am I thinking?
I don’t even have time for this blog.

I have had time to clean.
I mean, really clean.
Not just a quick wipe over of everything with the nearest tissue or washing the floor with a piece of absorbent paper.
Well, that’s the plan, anyway.

So, I will get on with it.

I wanted to leave you with some words from today’s sermon.
The sermons at our church are usually very short – today’s was a bit longer (about 15 minutes).
I don’t think I need to go into detail and I don’t think you need to be a church-goer or even a believer in God for these words to resonate in your spirit like they did mine.

“We need beauty and we need magnificence to stimulate the soul”

Amen!

8 responses to “Shadow Shot Sunday

  1. O my….this post sounds like me. My son travels to places I fret about too. And the part where you say “kidnapped” makes me think of my own thoughts when he’s in a foreign country. Hope your Peter remains safe.

    Love your colorful shadow!!

    My shadow this week is of a horn cleat [what you use to tie up a boat at the dock]

    LINK

    Hope your weekend has treated you well.

  2. Ooops. Just realised I left my comment for this post on your previous post. I get muddled up with different blogging platforms having the comments in different places. Silly me!

  3. Oh M…
    I just realized my parents must have had thought the same when I left home and came to Perth alone!
    I hope P comes home safe. ;)

  4. Beautiful shadow shot!

    My shadows, hope you can visit and see. Have a great week ahead!

  5. Ume,
    Sometimes it’s difficult when you think about things like that. I left my family when I was 20 and moved to the other side of Australia, to Cairns. It wasn’t until much later, after I was back in Perth, I thought about how worried my parents must have been.
    P is back on Wednesday. I can’t wait :-)

  6. Perth not a bad place to be right now, liked your photos of Freo. Hope your Peter gets back safe. Thanks for the visit.

  7. Wonderful shot.
    All parents go through this at some stage in their life.

  8. Lovely shadow and sun play you have there. Thanks for the visit at my page.
    Only two more sleeps for you now, enjoy Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

